cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iaik.security.ssl.SSLException: Peer sent alert: Alert Fatal: handshake

wilbertkarremans
Participant

Hello all;

From SAP PI 7.30 we call we a SOAP web-service over https. This service was running for a long time. The provider of the web-service upgraded their SSL certificates from SHA-1 signing algorithm to the stronger and more robust SHA-256. After that, we get the following error: iaik.security.ssl.SSLException: Peer sent alert: Alert Fatal: handshake. As said, just before the change the connection was working. I have added the required VeriSign CA root certificates to the Trusted CA's keystore within NWA. (VeriSign Class 3 Secure Server CA - G4 and G5) Something must be wrong. When I look into SXMB_MONI, I see something for which I don't know if it is related: encryptionAlgorithmEncryptionEncriptionSignature value DES_EDE3_CBC. I am not an expert in this, but could it be possible that this should be AES256-CBC? How to change that?

Any help or suggestion is welcome. My next step will be to install XPI Inspector to figure out what is wrong.

Wilbert

wilbertkarremans
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Pranav;

Yes I found the solution for my problem which was that the server I connect to requires TLSv1.2 and nothing else. If you have a similar case, you need to install 2 patches coming from SAP Security development. I logged an incident at SAP for this. SAP provided me a temporary fix.

Best regards;

Wilbert

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Wilbert,

is there an official note where I can find the patches or an howto?

Thanks

Sebastian

wilbertkarremans
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Sebastian,

As far as I know, there is no official note. I have a call (incident) at SAP which is still open. Via that incident I received the (preliminary) patch. I have applied that patch in all our PI systems. You need such a patch if TLSv1.2 security is required.

Best regards;

Wilbert

former_member198633
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi All,