Skip to Content

Un-Checkout someone elses files

We have a scenario where one of our developers has left 2 files checked out (exclusively) from our DTR. Is there any way as an admin you can do in and remove that check-out, so that another developer can check out the project for changes?

Thanks in advance,

Simon

Add comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Get RSS Feed

2 Answers

  • Best Answer
    Aug 29, 2005 at 03:22 PM

    Hi Simon,

    From SP12, it is possible for an Admin user to revert an activity of another user using the DTR Web UI. You need to navigate to the activity and select the "Revert this activity" option from the "Quick LInks" combo on the top right corner of the page.

    Regards,

    Manohar

    PS: You can find the activity using the activity search report: http://<host>:<port>/dtr/system-tools/reports/ActivityQuery

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

    • Former Member Former Member

      Hi Jordan,

      I can not quote the error message I receive because I have no access to DTR now, but its meaning was that the system could not delete the activity <name>. These activities are "open" (not checked in) and there are no files associated with them. And the error message was the same never mind the tool I used - NWDS DTR plugin or command prompt shell.

      Regards,

      Peter

      P.S. This is an example of the error I receive:

      >act -a "Free 7" -dn -D

      11:49:44.062 DELETE (FAILED: Deleting activity failed:

      Free 7 (default_hierarchical_deletion_w_SmartInv_teamr3_2e_com_SMARTINVOICE_dev_inactive_u_petary_t_2007_06_21_11_43_35_GMT_df53df78-c15d-48c6-bbcc-d6ee01c5cc90 ) )

      Free 7 (default_hierarchical_deletion_w_SmartInv_teamr3_2e_com_SMARTINVOICE_dev_inactive_u_petary_t_2007_06_21_11_43_35_GMT_df53df78-c15d-48c6-bbcc-d6ee01c5cc90)

      Could not delete activity. Deleting activity failed.

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    Aug 29, 2005 at 04:22 AM

    HI,

    Checkout exclusively is, that file is locked by that developer for further editing the file only by him. so ask that developer to remove that option,and ask him to checkin with the changes. Now the other developers can access that file.Admin can't uncheckout this file, but you can revert the file back.

    Regards

    RK

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

    • Former Member Simon Kemp

      Call the developer on the phone, shout at him asking him what kind of idiot he is and then tell him to surrender his login info... It is REALLY bad practice to leave files checked out when you know you'll be away for some time. Checking out exclusively should actually not be used, except in very special cases.