Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difference between INITIAL SIZE and OCCURS

gopalkrishna_baliga
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi ABAP Gurus,

I am new to ABAP. I am facing a confusion whether to use INITIAL SIZE option while defining my internal table. Some existing codes use OCCURS. So my questions are:

1. Difference between INITIAL SIZE and OCCURS?

2. When should I use INITIAL size. Are there any specific cases?

3. Is there any performance issue if I use INITIAL SIZE?

4. Why OCCURS is not recommended?

5. Is it true that if I use OCCURS then the internal table is created with header line? With INITIAL SIZE header line is not created?

6. What is the difference between INITIAL SIZE 0 and INITIAL SIZE 10?

Thanks

Gopal

4 REPLIES 4

Vinod_Chandran
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

Both are for the same purpose. i.e. for defining the initial size of the internal table. But the OCCURS statement cannot be used inside object oriented programming.

INITIAL SIZE specifies how many table lines are to be created initially. The number of table lines can then be increased as needed.

You can read about the performance issues regarding internal tables by going to the help of DATA statment. Press F1 key on the 'DATA' and then

Defining an Internal Table -> 4. DATA itab {TYPE RANGE OF type|DATA itab LIKE RANGE OF f}. (Variant 4)

Here you can find the link "Performance: Notes for Internal Tables.".

Thanks

Vinod

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Gopal

1. There isn't really a different beetween INITIAL SIZE and OCCURS, because these stataments have the same function in different way to declare an internal table: area size for memory allocation.

So i can declare an internal table like VBRK in these ways (for example):

A) DATA: BEGIN OF T_VBRK OCCURS 10.