Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ALV OOPS - simple class vs super class

divsmart
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Guys,

I am new to ABAP OOPS , i wrote an sample code which need to display an employee details.

Here i need to display the method 'display_no_of_employees' ie., (if we display 2 emplyee 'Number of emplye = 2' and so on).

But i am unable to display the method as an output. what mistake as i doing?

Coding:

• source.txt
  • 11 REPLIES 11

FredericGirod
    Active Contributor

You will have litle clearing to do at first.

1. CLASS-METHODS <-- NO ! only for SingleTon design pattern

2. CLASS-DATA <-- Why ?!

3. CALL METHOD my_class->my-method <-- NO! my_class->my_method( ).

4. WRITE in CLASS <-- No, for test you could use CL_DEMO_OUTPUT (https://blogs.sap.com/2016/05/10/cldemooutput-part-1-of-2-usage/)

5. CREATE OBJECT my_object <-- No my_object = new #( ... ).

michael_piesche
    Active Contributor
    0 Kudos

Currently you try to call your 'class-method' through an instance. Which works, but only if the object is also instantiated.

CALL METHOD g_employee3->display_no_of_employees.

The right way to call a class method would be to call it from the class lvl:

CALL METHOD lvl=>display_no_of_employees.

PS: I am not commenting on your style, just on the functionality you are trying to achieve.

michael.piesche, I am so disapointed, I thought you follow Clean Code Best Practice ...

😉

frdric.girod, you got me ;)

This time I just wanted to focus on the issue and tried not to overwhelm with other things that could be done better and stick with the users logic.