Skip to Content
avatar image
Former Member

Access Risk Analysis: Function grouping???


I have observed in GRC AC 10.0 that BASIS functions contain transaction codes belonging to "systems" like "SAP R3" and "SAP BASIS". Also, I found other systems in the drop down like "SAP ECCS" ,  "JDE" etc. Any idea what does it mean? I tried to execute these transaction codes in the GRC AC 10.0 system itself. However, some of them are working and some of them do not exist. Then why SAP has included them in the default rule set?

I have also found the back end system I have configured, in the drop down. My understanding is that, while creating a function, we select the respective back end system and add the transaction codes in the functions. But not sure what other systems in the drop down mean? Can anybody help me understanding this?

Secondly, what is the best way to group the transaction codes in a function? I mean, should it be grouped according to the work nature or each transaction code in each function?

Please help me understand this.



Add comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Get RSS Feed

1 Answer

  • Best Answer
    Jun 04, 2012 at 09:47 AM

    Hi Faisal,

    Transactions added to SAP Basis ruleset are based on the best practices and irrespective of SAP releases. you might get some tcodes which are available in 4.6C and got obsolete in ECC and vice-e-versa. All the tcodes should belongs to SAP system and should be available in any of the release.

    While creating a function, you can add tcodes from SAP R3 (after uploading the auth text files) or can add any of the Tcode/Action which can be created as a rule for any of the Non-SAP system. Like Portal actions. So this is available for all the systems.

    You can add Tcodes or group all the tcodes which have similar kind of nature or activity and put all of them in one function.

    Hope this helps.

    Thanks & Regards


    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded