Skip to Content
avatar image
Former Member

User Comparison

Dear All,

I had problem related to User Comparison. When I am giving new authorization to user on development server I have generated profile and then compare User at that time I dont see the complete comparison button on User tab.

Some times it will shows that button. But when I transport this request to production it does not works. When I checked roles in which new authorization added it shows in "Red" & having message user Comparison required.

Please also tell me about "When I create request for transferring roles what is mean by 1: User Assignment & 2: Personalization" check boxes.

Your Help is appreciated. Please help me out

Thank You,

Amit

Add comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Get RSS Feed

5 Answers

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    Apr 30, 2012 at 03:59 PM

    Hi Amit,

    Selecting User Assignment option will also transport user assignments to the the role. If the role already exist in production all the previous user assignments to the role will be lost.

    Usually only Personaization is selected so that User assignments remain intact in production and only role changes are transported.

    For more facts on transport:

    http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw70ehp2/helpdata/en/6d/7c8cfd410ea040aadf92e1f78107a4/content.htm

    https://service.sap.com/sap/support/notes/571276

    Hope this will help !!

    Regards,

    Ajesh.

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    May 01, 2012 at 03:28 PM

    Hi Amit,

    In dev; after the new authorisation added, you were not able to see the complete comparision button because the users must have already been compared with status as green. This button will only be seen when there is a need of user comparision.

    In prod; it was required because the role you transported may have the User Assignment included.

    The difference between the checkboxs while role transport creation is:

    1: User Assignment: If you require to same users assigned from dev to prod for this role.

    2: Personalization: If you have specific settings configured for this role in the Personalization tab & require this to be transported as well.

    Normally, both are unselected.

    Daya

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    May 02, 2012 at 01:22 PM

    Hi All,

    Thank you Daya And Ajesh.

    But my problem is not solved actually what happens when I add authorization to role why I cant able to see Complete Comparison button because earlier I had seen that button.

    When I clicked on tab User it is already green.

    When i create Request for this role transport and I checked 2 text boxes User Assignment & Personalization then at production server, I seen that role or authorization. But having user tab yellow.

    When I see that particular role in transaction SU01 it having Status "Comparison Required".

    But as you said usually we select only personalization box at time of transporting role then on production server newly added authorization is not displayed why this is happens??

    So for giving authorization I have done it on production. On production server there is no problem with that it shows "Complete Comparison" button. And I am following usual procedure.

    I also checked if there is "Automatic user Comparison at time of role saving" but it is also not checked.

    I am still not clear about user Assignment and Personalization terms at Role transformation.

    Please consult me. I am getting very confused.

    Your help appreciated.

    Thank You,

    Amit

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

    • Hello Amit,

      if you add one authorizatio value in DEV, maybe no comparison is required, if the number of authoriaztions did not change (only the nubmer of vlaues for isntance). then a comparison is not necessary of course!

      In the past this behaviour was a bit different. Please check out note 1272331.

      But after a role import a user comparison is required every time.

      b.rgds, Bernhard

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    May 04, 2012 at 09:50 AM

    Hi Amit,

    Per your query, you are changing the authorization data of a role which is already assigned to a specific set of users.

    The 'Complete Comparison' button checks the users assigned to the role and updates the User Master Data accordingly. In your case, since the profiles for the role are already assigned to the users and only the authorization data is changed, the comparison will not be required and hence the green status.

    Regarding the User Assignment Option, if it is selected while transporting the role, all the user assignments in the PROD will be replaced with the assignments corresponding to the DEV system.

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    May 04, 2012 at 11:54 AM

    Thank You All,

    But problem is not yet solved.

    If there is no requirement to compare user when assigning new authorization.

    But earlier when I add new authorization in existing role that time button "Complete Comparison" is shown. I also checked it by assigning new t code in new role but still that button is not shown.

    I had one concern as per your saying that no need to compare user then when I transport this role to production with only personalization check box selected.

    And when I checked for the same role in which I have made changes ''HAVING USER TAB in YELLOW .When I see that particular role in transaction SU01 it having Status "COMPARISON REQUIRED"'

    It means the user comparison has not done. For getting effect at production I want to compare user on PRODUCTION at that time it shows that COMPLETE COMPARISON button. Why this happens??

    Any idea??

    Please help me out.

    Thank You,

    Amit

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded