Skip to Content
author's profile photo Former Member
Former Member

Defining budget after the commencement of activity 8.81

Hello experts,

In the "How To Mg Budgets 88.pdf' page 18 under section 'Defining budget after the commencement of activity' it states that when a budget is defined the system will ask 'Do you want to restore the accounts accumulators?'.

This does not happen except for the Main budget. Is this correct system behavior? My customer will not use the Main Budget but instead each budget has a defined profit center and project; Main Budget can not have those values.

My concern is that this may affect budget reports. If the accumulator is only used for checking budget deviation then no problem, they are aware that that check is only made against the main budget.

8.81, patch level 5, US localization

Thanks for your thoughts,

Beverly

Add a comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

Assigned Tags

Related questions

3 Answers

  • Best Answer
    author's profile photo Former Member
    Former Member
    Posted on Aug 23, 2011 at 04:52 PM

    Hello Beverly,

    For your question:

    This does not happen except for the Main budget. Is this correct system behavior?

    The answer is yes.

    Only Main budget is used for real calculation. All others are only scenarios to do what-if analysis.

    Thanks,

    Gordon

    Add a comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Posted on Aug 23, 2011 at 01:33 PM

    Hi,

    Please check whether after marking 'Yes' is any result displayed in the 'Actual' and 'Future' columns for the G\L Account in question.

    The result would be based on the account balance and the open documents.

    Check once in Demo as well with an account having balance.

    Kind Regards,

    Jitin

    SAP Business One Forum Team

    Add a comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

    • Former Member

      Thanks for your reply.

      The question is NOT asked.

      So I can not reply to a question that isn't asked.

      Is it system behaviour to not ask the question for any budget scenerio other than 'main' ?

      Thanks

  • author's profile photo Former Member
    Former Member
    Posted on Aug 24, 2011 at 12:17 PM

    Thank you

    Add a comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

Before answering

You should only submit an answer when you are proposing a solution to the poster's problem. If you want the poster to clarify the question or provide more information, please leave a comment instead, requesting additional details. When answering, please include specifics, such as step-by-step instructions, context for the solution, and links to useful resources. Also, please make sure that you answer complies with our Rules of Engagement.
You must be Logged in to submit an answer.

Up to 10 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MB each and 10.5 MB total.