Skip to Content
author's profile photo
Former Member

WAS 6.40 Sneak Preview fails re Creating/Modifying OS Accounts for J2E

While installing WAS 6.40 Sneak Preview, the "Installation Progress" window hangs on the 2nd item named "SAP System Installation". At the bottom of the same window I see this status message: "Creating/Modifying OS Accounts for J2E". It's been hanging for about 90 minutes. I'm running Windows XP Pro, SP 1 with 1 Gig memory and 15 Gigs left on the HD. My user account is a member of my machine's Administrators group. Before installing WAS 6.40, I installed JDK 1.4.2_03. I pointed the WAS installer to that JDK.

Here's what's in my C:\Program Files\sapinst_instdir\j2ee-sneak-preview\install\sapinst.log:

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:30

Copying file C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/keydb.xml to: q0w9e9r8t7.1.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:30

Copying file C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/keydb.xml to: q0w9e9r8t7.1.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:30

Creating file C:\Program Files\sapinst_instdir\j2ee-sneak-preview\install\q0w9e9r8t7.1.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:31

Copying file C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/keydb.xml to: C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/keydb.1.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:31

Copying file C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/keydb.xml to: C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/keydb.1.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:31

Creating file C:\Program Files\sapinst_instdir\j2ee-sneak-preview\install\keydb.1.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:32

Successfully added privileges 'SeTcbPrivilege SeAssignPrimaryTokenPrivilege SeIncreaseQuotaPrivilege' to account 'TPW-0GF8\brownge' on host '.'.

PHASE 2004-06-18 13:59:32

Prepare the installation program.

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:34

Installation start: Friday, 18 June 2004, 13:59:30; installation directory: C:\Program Files\sapinst_instdir\j2ee-sneak-preview\install; product to be installed: Sneak Preview Edition of SAP Web Application Server Java 6.40> Install SAP Web Application Server Java 6.40

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:40

DNS is configured correctly.

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 13:59:42

File system export (share) saploc does not exist.

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 13:59:47

Account user="j2eadm" does not exist. <#1>

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 13:59:49

File system export (share) saploc does not exist.

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:49

Looking for WebAS instances installed on this host...

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:49

No installed instances found!

WARNING[E] 2004-06-18 13:59:49

Error converting from service name=sapmsJ2E/protocol=tcp to port number. SAPRETURN=12

WARNING[E] 2004-06-18 13:59:49

Error converting from port number=3601/protocol=tcp to service names. SAPRETURN=12

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 13:59:54

Account user="TPW-0GF8\j2eadm" does not exist. <#1>

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 13:59:58

Account user="TPW-0GF8\SAPServiceJ2E" does not exist. <#1>

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:58

Copying file C:/downloads/SAP/Web_Application_Server_6.40/SAPinst_SP_WAS640_split/J2EE-CD/JDKVersion.xml to: ..

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:58

Copying file C:/downloads/SAP/Web_Application_Server_6.40/SAPinst_SP_WAS640_split/J2EE-CD/JDKVersion.xml to: ..

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:58

Creating file C:\Program Files\sapinst_instdir\j2ee-sneak-preview\install\JDKVersion.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:59

Execution of the command "C:\dev\java\j2ee\tools\Sun\AppServer\jdk/bin/java.exe '-version'" finished with return code 0. Output: 1.4.2_04

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:59

Found valid JAVA_HOME directory C:\dev\java\j2ee\tools\Sun\AppServer\jdk with JDK version 1.4.2_04.

INFO 2004-06-18 13:59:59

Execution of the command "C:\dev\java\j2ee\tools\Sun\AppServer\jdk/bin/java.exe '-version'" finished with return code 0. Output: 1.4.2_04

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 14:00:00

Unable to get value for environment variable SAPINST_DEBUG_TRACE.

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 14:00:32

File system export (share) saploc does not exist.

INFO 2004-06-18 14:00:32

Execution of the command "C:\dev\java\j2ee\tools\Sun\AppServer\jdk/bin/java.exe '-version'" finished with return code 0. Output: 1.4.2_04

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 14:00:32

Unable to get value for environment variable SAPINST_DEBUG_TRACE.

INFO 2004-06-18 14:00:56

Execution of the command "C:\dev\java\tools\sun\jdk1.4.2_03/bin/java.exe '-version'" finished with return code 0. Output: 1.4.2_03

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 14:00:56

Unable to get value for environment variable SAPINST_DEBUG_TRACE.

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 14:01:06

File system export (share) saploc does not exist.

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 14:01:23

File system export (share) saploc does not exist.

INFO 2004-06-18 14:01:31

Execution of the command "C:\dev\java\tools\sun\jdk1.4.2_03/bin/java.exe '-version'" finished with return code 0. Output: 1.4.2_03

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 14:01:32

File system export (share) saploc does not exist.

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 14:01:37

Account user="TPW-0GF8\j2eadm" does not exist. <#1>

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 14:01:41

Account user="TPW-0GF8\j2eadm" does not exist. <#1>

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 14:01:48

Account user="TPW-0GF8\SAPServiceJ2E" does not exist. <#1>

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 14:01:53

Account user="TPW-0GF8\SAPServiceJ2E" does not exist. <#1>

INFO 2004-06-18 14:01:55

Looking for WebAS instances installed on this host...

INFO 2004-06-18 14:01:55

No installed instances found!

INFO 2004-06-18 14:03:40

Copying file C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/product.xml to: C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/product.1.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 14:03:40

Copying file C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/product.xml to: C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/product.1.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 14:03:40

Creating file C:\Program Files\sapinst_instdir\j2ee-sneak-preview\install\product.1.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 14:03:40

Copying file C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/JDKVersion.xml to: C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/JDKVersion.1.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 14:03:40

Copying file C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/JDKVersion.xml to: C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/JDKVersion.1.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 14:03:40

Creating file C:\Program Files\sapinst_instdir\j2ee-sneak-preview\install\JDKVersion.1.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 14:03:40

Copying file C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/JDKVersion.xml to: C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/JDKVersion.2.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 14:03:40

Copying file C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/JDKVersion.xml to: C:/Program Files/sapinst_instdir/j2ee-sneak-preview/install/JDKVersion.2.xml.

INFO 2004-06-18 14:03:40

Creating file C:\Program Files\sapinst_instdir\j2ee-sneak-preview\install\JDKVersion.2.xml.

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 14:03:40

File system export (share) saploc does not exist.

INFO[E] 2004-06-18 14:03:46

File system export (share) saploc does not exist.

Add comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Follow
  • Get RSS Feed

2 Answers

  • author's profile photo
    Former Member
    Jun 28, 2004 at 01:05 PM

    At the office, I tried to install. It hung for 90 minutes. I uninstalled then installed. It hung in the exact same place. I tried to install under C:\dev\java\tools.

    At home, I used the exact same installation files to successfully install on Windows 2000 Professional.

    My network engineer added me to my office machine's Adminstrators group. Would you tell me exactly what rights I require to install using Windows XP Professional. I have had no rights-related problem installing any other software.

    Maybe you should know that I had previously installed MS Visual Studio .NET, MS FrontPage, Sun's J2SDKEE 1.4, Sun JWSDK 1.3, Apache Tomcat 4.1, and some Sybase client server tools (PowerBuilder and SQL Anywhere). Might there be some kind of conflict?

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

    • > At the office, I tried to install. It hung for 90

      > minutes. I uninstalled then installed. It hung in

      > the exact same place. I tried to install under

      > C:\dev\java\tools.

      That's a problem. You need to stay on the directory root for the server at least!

      > My network engineer added me to my office

      > ice machine's Adminstrators group. Would you tell me

      > exactly what rights I require to install using

      > Windows XP Professional. I have had no

      > rights-related problem installing any other

      > software.

      Nothing else but what you have.

      > Maybe you should know that I had previously

      > sly installed MS Visual Studio .NET, MS FrontPage,

      > Sun's J2SDKEE 1.4, Sun JWSDK 1.3, Apache Tomcat 4.1,

      > and some Sybase client server tools (PowerBuilder and

      > SQL Anywhere). Might there be some kind of conflict?

      No.

      Regards,

      Benny

  • Jun 21, 2004 at 08:34 AM

    Could it be you don'T have admin rights on your computer?

    Regards,

    Benny

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

    • OK. I did not see this on first sight, as I only saw that your messages are in that way.

      For some reason the accounts that should be installed cannot be installed. Usually this means your rights are not sufficient.

      Something else: Did you stop the install and continue it later?

      Did you change something in the share that the installation is providing? Did you somehow hinder the system to install under C:/usr?

      Regards,

      Benny