Skip to Content
avatar image
Former Member

Collaboration Room questions.

Hi All,

We are in the process of investigating/rolling out Collaboration Rooms in EP5/SP5 and I have several questions about how to go about things. Â

1) How does one close a project out?  What I see using the 'Project Template' under the Detailed Nav is a page called 'Project Close' that only has places for documents. What I would like to do, and it seems normal, is under the room administration is have an option to 'close' the project which would prevent any additions to the content, scheduling, etc. within the room.

Is this type of option available and I have just missed it, or is closing a project out just a governance thing and anyone involved in the project will be rebuked for adding more content once a project is done?

2) What type of user governance do others have in place to maintain rooms/closed rooms?  Like when a project, session, etc. is complete how long do you leave the information in the portal before archiving/deleting the room. What would be an acceptable time frame, barring any legal issues, to removing a room that has not been used in a while - 30/60/90/180 days?

These are a few of the issues that we are currently facing, and really need to resolve, before we can give this needed functionality to some of our users.

Thanks & regards

Jon

Add comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Follow
  • Get RSS Feed

1 Answer

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    Oct 15, 2003 at 11:53 AM

    Hi Jon,

    you should not take the delivered templates too serious. They are mainly examples for what can be done. It is my experience, that it is important for a customer project to create custom templates that fully support the they the customer wants to work. If a project closing folder for documents in not suitable, you should create a template that fits better.

    Currently, there is no way, to 'close' a project. If I understood you right, that would technically mean to make the room read-only. But there's something else, you could do. You can create your template in a way, that you have special read-only pages, that you assign to a room role. When you close your project, you change the role of your room members to this read only role. This might lead to the same effect.

    I have to admit, that I did not fully understand the second part of your question. A room can be deleted by the room owner. If you have to control room deletion, to make sure that nothing is deleted too early, you should make a central group (like IT) the owner of your rooms. In that case a room cannot be created or deleted as a self-service but only on request.

    I hope these ideas help in your project.

    Regards,

    Christian

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

    • Hello Jon, ´hello Christian

      I would like to add what improved in EP60.

      a) In EP60 you can set a room ti status locked ba an admin, so that the access

          is limited only to the owner

      b) In EP60 you can change the members role immediately without having to reinvite

          the members

      Jon - did you have a chance to see EP60 Collaboratuion offering?

      Regards

      Stefan