Skip to Content

Client Copy for only SAP_CUST erasing master data of target client

Hi Experts,

Right now we are asking our basis consultant to copy production configuration/customizing only to our quality environment for user testing, without copying production master data as the data is very sensitive. Data in production and quality is different, data in quality is only dummy data.

Current condition the quality system is not having the same level of customization as on since go live our consultant change and edit the configuration directly in production system and this is resulting inconsistency of configuration in quality when the user is doing testing. So we want to rectified this problem and the solution from our consultant is to do client copy from production to quality.

Consultant has done the testing of client copy from production to new client in quality to test whether when copying customization from production to quality it will overwrite the dummy data in quality by copy only SAP_CUST profile. The result right now is the data is being deleted by the client copy process.

My question:

1. Is the above process already right to achieve what we want or maybe there are certain options is missing in process which is resulting the data being deleted?

2. What is the right process to achieve the above requirement if the above process is wrong?

Regards

Rian Wisandanu

Add comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Get RSS Feed

2 Answers

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    Nov 24, 2009 at 09:12 AM
    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

    • As far as I know thats not possible.

      Most companies just refresh their QA system regularly with a copy of production... You can do a copy using SAP_ALL profile but obviously your dummy data will be gone.

      Regards

      Juan

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    Nov 25, 2009 at 02:33 PM

    Hello,

    the optoin to copy customizing but not delete application data is not possible anymore. Up to release 4.5 such option in the client copy procedure existed, but does not in actual releases. When application data are not deleted then the risk for inconsistencies increases and so SAP decided to delete this option.

    Regards Bernd

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded