Skip to Content
avatar image
Former Member

Concurrent access to Documents

Hi,

I am refering to EasyDMS, but assume it will be the same from CV02N as well. How would the system behave in the following scenario.

User A and User B have write access to a DMS document. User A logs in and checks out a document from EasyDMS and starts to work offline. User B logs in (to EasyDMS) and attempts to make changes to the document. My questions are;

1. Will user B know that somebody has checked out the document? Will there be some indication to show that the doc is being changed?

2. Will user B also be allowed to check out the document and make changes?

Thanks,

Lashan

Add comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Get RSS Feed

3 Answers

  • Best Answer
    avatar image
    Former Member
    Aug 14, 2009 at 09:06 AM

    Hello Lashan,

    when user A checks out the file for editing, then user B sees in the documentinforecord an open lock at the original checked out for editing. User B can open this file only for viewing.

    In the statusnet you can define a status as a "Original processing status", this means only the user which is in the field user is able to edit the DIR. So if an other user want's to edit this DIR, he first has to change the status to status "change User", change the field user to his userid and then is able to change the DIR.

    If you only allow a status change, when all files are checked in, then nobody can do any changes, as long as an other user has checked out the file.

    hope this helps

    Iring

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    Aug 14, 2009 at 06:54 AM

    Hi

    EasyDMS works like a portable content server...

    Under Easy DMS, User A may edit a document offline and same time user B wish to work online. Here User B won't get any restriction and he can edit the file & release the document or wish to wait till User A comes online.

    Scenario 1) Document is realease and when User A will synchronize his offline EasyDMS system with online system, system will create new version of document.

    2) If user B wish to wait, then as per system setting...on synchronization document can either be overwritten or new content version can be created.

    Hope this will help u

    rgds

    Kamal

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    Aug 14, 2009 at 07:58 AM

    hi,

    by knowing status Log we could come to conclution that, when[stause chenge] and who[user] edited everithing will be loged, this could be seen in statuse log.

    simultaniously doc can't accessed. i think u know's.

    if u want pertcular activity to know, use SM21, enter transcation. u will get history.

    Benakaraj

    ??P

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded