Skip to Content
author's profile photo Former Member
Former Member

Merging results in duplicate links in Detailed Navigation

Hi Guys,

I have 2 Roles A and B with the following worksets:

Role A has WSA1, WSA2,

Role B has WSB1,

A user should have either role A or B and noth both, which would result in the user seeing both Roles. However, we have discovered a case where a user has both roles. Thus, I merged:

- Roles A & B with the same merge ID, A having higher priorty than B

- WSA1 and WSB1 with the same ID, WSA1 having higher prioty than WSB1

Thus, if a user gets both roles, he would only see Role A with WSA1 and WSA2. However, I noticed that WSB1 appears on the Detailed Navigation as well, which is not supposed to be the case. I cannot set it to invisible as well as this would affect ppl with Role B only. WHy doesn't merging merge the worksets in the detailed navigation as well? Can anyone enlighten how i can fix it?

THanks you.

Add a comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

Related questions

3 Answers

  • author's profile photo Former Member
    Former Member
    Posted on Aug 11, 2009 at 05:00 AM

    As you have merged the roles A and B, all the worksets under those two roles are shown under one role in detailed navigation.Thats how merge id works

    Can you explain your requirement clearly?

    Add a comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • author's profile photo Former Member
    Former Member
    Posted on Aug 11, 2009 at 05:52 AM

    Hi Santhosh,

    In the event that a user is assigned Role A and Role B, he should only see Role A and the worksets under it. The best way is to control the role and user assignment in UME, but unfortunately, it is impossible to do due to the sheer effort in maintenance and other issues. Therefore, the solution i found was to play with the Merge configurations to force Role B and its worksets to be invisible when a user has both roles.

    While this merging has worked on the top level navigations (i.e. Role B and workset WSB1 does not appear), it still appeared on the detailed navigation, which I'm trying to get rid of.

    Thank you.

    Add a comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

    • Former Member

      As I mentioned you earlier,appearance of WSB1 is because you have merged the roles A and B.

      Whe you assign Role A and Role B,obviously the Role B is also seen as you used merge id Rle B is not seen instead WSB1 of Role B is merged under Role A.

      Firstly If you do not want to see any of the content of Role B,then why do you need to assign that Role to the user

      Even after assigning both the roles do you have any condition on which the Role B and its content is invisible

  • author's profile photo Former Member
    Former Member
    Posted on Aug 11, 2009 at 06:50 AM

    Hi Santhosh,

    I wish I can easily not assign the user Role B but due to maintenance and the sheer effort required to do so (because there are many users who fall into such a category) it is not possible to just assign the user Role A only.

    In other words, there's no way to hide WSB1 in the detailed navigation? or give it the illusion that it is not there?

    Thank you.

    Add a comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

Before answering

You should only submit an answer when you are proposing a solution to the poster's problem. If you want the poster to clarify the question or provide more information, please leave a comment instead, requesting additional details. When answering, please include specifics, such as step-by-step instructions, context for the solution, and links to useful resources. Also, please make sure that you answer complies with our Rules of Engagement.
You must be Logged in to submit an answer.

Up to 10 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MB each and 10.5 MB total.