Skip to Content
0

preserve object doesnt work on user change in agentry

Nov 16, 2016 at 07:59 AM

48

avatar image

Hi,

I have checked the preserve object check box but when i logout from client and login again with different user it removes object of the previous user . please help me in this issue.

Regards,

Rohit Dhoundiyal

synch.png (75.7 kB)
preserveobj.png (209.2 kB)
10 |10000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded
* Please Login or Register to Answer, Follow or Comment.

1 Answer

Best Answer
Mark Pe
Nov 17, 2016 at 12:42 AM
0

Dear Rohit,

I have a theory (Ref # 9356).

From my ref:

In order to improve back end performance, some Agentry products do not send each and every Agentry transaction to the back end for processing, but instead apply the changes to the local object store and flag each changed object. When the user chooses to transmit, the Agentry action first loops over the local object collections and creates a single 'bundled' Agentry transaction for each changed objects.
The Agentry Client login workflow handles the case where the user is changing during login, and the device already has previously saved but unsent Agentry transactions in the local database. In this case, the Agentry "previous user" workflow will perform a "previous user login" in order to send the previously saved transactions which is immediately followed by the new user login.

However, when the transaction bundling design pattern is used, the Agentry client does not have any local Agentry transactions which will not trigger the previous user login. This means that any local changes to the object store will be incorrectly picked up and sent by the new user's next transmit.

To resolve the above the Agentry team did under SMP 3.0 SDK SP12:

To resolve this, a new "On User Change Action" will be added to the module definition. This action will be called immediately after the Agentry client detects that a user change is in progress, but before the client checks to see if there are any previous user transactions. The expectation is that the product definitions will use this new action to 'finalize' the previous user's state by creating all the bundled transactions that are currently flagged in the database for the previous user. These bundled transactions as well as any existing normal Agentry transactions will be processed by the standard, existing, previous user transaction handling logic.

This approach allows the products to fully support bundled transactions and device sharing without needed to extend the bundling logic to include the user that modified each object or needed to extend the back end posting logic to be able to post transactions as a different user than the one already logged in.

Hope the above information helps out.

Best Regards,

Mark Pe

SAP Platinum Support Engineer

Share
10 |10000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded