Skip to Content
0
Former Member
Jun 10, 2009 at 12:10 PM

Are users and profiles deleted with TDMS Package for Client Deletion?

36 Views

Hi there,

We are using TDMS for some time now and already have done several transfers and deletions. But since the last TDMS client delete is already more than a year ago we do not know if the original users and profiles in the deleted client are kept after the client delete is finished. The TDMS operation guide gives only the following information

Delete all client-dependent data from a client in a non-production system:

The functions contained in this package are the same as the ones used in other

packages (for example TDTIM) to delete the client-dependent data from the receiver

system in preparation to the data transfer.

This option is currently available for SAP ERP systems (TDDEL)

This suggests that the users and profiles will exist because it's the same as the deletion with the timebased (TDTIM) scenario.

Also the deletion scenario has some actions like : Lock users, Save user Addresses before drop, Unlock users.

besides all above is the fact that TDMS leans heavily on a rfc user with role SAP_TDMS_USER, which in turn suggests that users and roles are not compromised, but are they?

all of the above does not give me the final answer that the users and profiles are kept safe during a TDMS Client Delete. Has anyone an answers on this?

ps: Nevertheless we will export the users and profiles before we will start the TDMS Client delete but it would be nice if someone could verify it that users and profile will stay intact.

kind regards,

Herman Berkhoff