Skip to Content
avatar image
Former Member

Deleting a Configuration Scenario in Dev

Hello,

When we decide to rearchitect interfaces in PI, and are faced with deleting configuration scenarios in Development, how do those deletes "transport" up into QA and Production when there is nothing to "export" in the source system (because it was deleted?

It is not a best practice to directly change QA or Prod, so we are assuming that carrying deletes through the PI landscape must have a transport mechanism.

Thank you.

Add comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Get RSS Feed

5 Answers

  • Best Answer
    avatar image
    Former Member
    Mar 24, 2009 at 12:49 PM

    The "Include Deleted Items" check box will work fine for objects that are deleted from within a configuration scenario, but once the configuration scenario is deleted you cannot export it because it no longer exists. If you cannot export it because it no longer exists you cannot select the "Include Deleted Items" check box either, as this is an option only available in the export screen. Is the only option, then, to delete the configuration scenario manually in the QA and Production environments? It sounds like CTS+ may help solve this?

    Thanks,

    Ben

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    Mar 23, 2009 at 08:19 PM

    Hi John,

    when you export objects from DEV, you also have the chance to include deleted objects in your CR, in this way you are able to transport the deletion of an Object to QAS and the object will be deleted.

    Regards,

    Sergio

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Mar 23, 2009 at 09:06 PM

    If you are done with the cleaning process in dev or quality, you can first remove all the objects and then transport all the remaining objects to production in one go.

    Regards,

    Prateek

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    Mar 24, 2009 at 05:22 AM

    Hi John,

    You have two alternatives first method given by sergio where you delete the objects and transport the deleted objects by checking the checkbox.

    Or

    Another way is you delete the things you dont need in your dev. Then transport to QA and then to Prod . The existing objects in QA get overwritten with the new objects that you transported from dev.

    Or

    You can manually delete , your IR is locked both not your ID.

    Regards

    joel

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    Mar 24, 2009 at 05:39 AM

    Hi,

    If you are using File transfer mode for exporting Configuration objects, then you have a option Include Deleted Objects which you can tick and then your deleted objects will be deleted in PI QA or PRD system when you import this file in these systems.............

    If you are using CTS+ for exporting objects, then when you delete your configuration scenario in ID and activate it, then you can right-click your change list having the deleted object and release it for transfer...... then a transport request will be created for it which you can import in QA or PRD system and then your configuration scenario will be deleted in your these systems.

    Regards,

    Rajeev Gupta

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded