Skip to Content
author's profile photo Former Member
Former Member

Transporting Roles

Hi All,

When an existing role is changed in dev system and transported to prod system, what happens to the user assignment in prod system, does it affect the user assignments in the prod system for that particular role ? and

If it doesn't affect any assignments is it enough if we just perform user compare after imporing the role?

Can some one please give me some information on this?

Regards,

Sandhya

Add a comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

Assigned Tags

Related questions

6 Answers

  • author's profile photo Former Member
    Former Member
    Posted on Nov 01, 2008 at 06:38 AM

    Typically it is undesirable to transport the user assignment... there is also a PRGN_CUST setting to block this.

    So for authorizations there is no action required for existing users if the values change as these are immediately available.

    Where new profiles are generated for the changed role, you will need a user compare first.

    Cheers,

    Julius

    Add a comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Posted on Nov 01, 2008 at 06:48 AM

    Hello Sandhya,

    you said you have transported a role from DEV to PRD,so

    the changes might take effect only if the same particular

    users are there in PRD with same login names but it doesnt

    effect other users.

    ya if the transport is successful just user comaparision

    will be enough.If you still have any query you add

    a test user to that particular role,make a user comparision,login

    and check if the tcodes you give are allowing you or is their any

    problem which says "you are not authorized".

    Regards,

    Manjula.

    Add a comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

    • >

      > Hello Sandhya,

      >

      > you said you have transported a role from DEV to PRD,so

      > the changes might take effect only if the same particular

      > users are there in PRD with same login names but it doesnt

      > effect other users.

      .

      Hi,

      this is the case only, if the user assignements are transported with the role (appropriate checkbox is marked).

      b.rgds, Bernhard

  • Posted on Nov 03, 2008 at 04:42 PM

    I would say YES to both of your questions

    Thanks,

    Sree

    Add a comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • author's profile photo Former Member
    Former Member
    Posted on Nov 03, 2008 at 05:51 PM

    Hi Sandhya,

    User assignment will only be affected if you check the box 'User assignment' while creating transport request. Other wise it will not be affected.

    If you are transporting the child role and if the users assigned are same in both servers then User comparision is not necessary. If you are transporting either the parent role or the users having access in both servers are different, then Yes you have to do User comparision.

    Thank You,

    Ravi Boppana

    Add a comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Posted on Nov 07, 2008 at 03:30 PM

    Hi Sandhya,

    Here is some thing i think good for you,

    1. Go in to PFCG and type in any role name and click on display

    then go in to utilities-->settings.

    you will see an option saying that automatic user master adjustment when saving roles.

    If you check this option in every system (dev, tst and prd)

    then i think it will update the users automatically.

    2. i think if your company schedules any batch job (PFCG_TIME_DEPENDENCY) which runs every day, it will compare all the user master records and deletes the expired roles from users and updates the exsisting roles.

    Add a comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • author's profile photo Former Member
    Former Member
    Posted on Nov 10, 2008 at 04:36 AM

    Hello Sandhya,

    When you transport a role, it will always ask you the opetion of transporting the User Assignments as well. If you check this opetion the users having access to this role in development will also be assigned this role in the production.

    I wont recommend you use this, as it way overwrite the users who may have access to this in production and not in development.

    regards,

    Chinmaya

    Add a comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

Before answering

You should only submit an answer when you are proposing a solution to the poster's problem. If you want the poster to clarify the question or provide more information, please leave a comment instead, requesting additional details. When answering, please include specifics, such as step-by-step instructions, context for the solution, and links to useful resources. Also, please make sure that you answer complies with our Rules of Engagement.
You must be Logged in to submit an answer.

Up to 10 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MB each and 10.5 MB total.