Skip to Content
avatar image
Former Member

Role Deletion

Are we allowed to delete roles in production? These roles are those that nobody issues anymore, roles that should not have gone to production, and roles that were renamed for a much better role naming convention.

Also, what if in the case of the client still in the final preparation stage of the implementation but roles have already been moved to production? Can you still delete roles that you will not be needing?

What is the best practice in both cases?

Thanks in advance!

Edited by: Bliss IM on May 18, 2008 9:40 PM

Add comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Get RSS Feed

2 Answers

  • Best Answer
    May 18, 2008 at 08:22 PM

    In both cases just transport the deletion of the role in development.

    Create your transport containing the role in dev, delete the role & then release the transport. The role will be deleted as the tpt goes through the landscape

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • avatar image
    Former Member
    May 18, 2008 at 08:45 PM

    Just to add to Alex....

    Every company has there own Change Control procedures to be in good shape during Audits...you may want to cross check the procedures before you go ahead with deleting roles.

    Thanks!

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

    • After you transport a role deletion, the role will still exist in the users position record (PO13). Is there any easy way to clean this up?

      Found my answer: You can use RHCHECKRELATIONS (transaction S_PH0_48000117) to cleanup any inconsistancies.

      Edited by: Salim Assaf on Dec 1, 2011 5:46 PM