Skip to Content
avatar image
Former Member

Shadow System

Hi all,

I don't understand the process myself but heres how i've been told it goes. When an upgrade is taking place a copy of the live environment is sent to a Shadow System to minimise downtime in the live environment. When the upgrade is completed it is transferred to the live environment.

Thats how it was described to me but the question i'm looking for an answer too is whether or not the copy on the Shadow System is then automatically deleted or whether theres a security risk in that someone could gain access to the Shadow System?

Any help appreciated. Thanks

Add comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Get RSS Feed

1 Answer

  • Best Answer
    avatar image
    Former Member
    Jul 16, 2007 at 02:50 PM

    Hi John,

    As you correctly say, a shadow instance is installed to help with the upgrade process. You may rest assured though that the instance is automatically removed by the upgrade mechanism. More important, will be to note the OS file which holds all the passwords during the upgrade; ensure that this is removed once the upgrade is complete. The upgrade process informs you of both the filename and the location of it.

    All the best with the upgrade!

    Regards,

    Graham

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded