Skip to Content
avatar image
Former Member

Creating a baseline version in PowerDesigner repository

Can someone explain what is lost when you check in a change to the repository as a "baseline version"?

We have a project that is getting very large, and is over 700 versions past the last baseline. I can't find any information on what functionality you lose when you baseline a version. Do you just lose the ability to compare to previous versions?

Thanks

Add comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Get RSS Feed

1 Answer

  • Best Answer
    Jul 19, 2017 at 09:35 AM

    The PD help topic Check-In Parameters says that the "Create baseline version" option:

    Creates a completely new version of the model, instead of simply versioning the objects that have changed. This option is available only if you have Full permission on the document. The Merge Changes to Repository Document dialog does not open. Baseline versions may be quicker to check in and out, but they require considerably more disk space than standard versions.

    Occasionally, the repository cannot process a standard version; in this situation, you should try to create a baseline version that can be used as a starting point for a new development step.

    In each of your 700 previous versions, PD only stored the differences between that version and the previous version. When you check out a non-baseline version, PD has to assemble the model from all those differences, before handing it to you to use. Checking-in a baseline version has no impact on merging, comparing, checking out, branching, etc., except possibly speeding them up. :)

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded