Skip to Content
0

Deployment process of custom application in SMP 3.0 SP12

May 10, 2017 at 01:41 PM

159

avatar image

Dear All,

I want to know the steps involved in the deployment process of custom application in SMP 3.0 SP12

1. Installed the workmanager application with workmanager.server-6.4.1
2. Deployed the standard package SAPWorkMgr641Deployment-20161101.2027.zip file in the SMP server
3. Tested the application. Its working fine

Now I have a requirement to customise the application. This involves changes in the application as well as
creating a new Java Project . Now I have a new application version and a new java project.jar file

I do not have access to the server at OS level hence I can only deploy the application using SAP Management cockpit

What should be the process to be followed:

1. I recreate a new application package and include the jar file, and application version .
Delete the existing applicaiton and deploy the application again?

OR

2. I recreate a new application package and include the jar file, and application version .
Publish it on top of the already deployed application?
(Same approach which is followed at the time of deploying a development version of application)

What should be the approach. If anyone is working on this can you please share.

Thanks and Regards

Neha Mahanty

10 |10000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded
* Please Login or Register to Answer, Follow or Comment.

2 Answers

Best Answer
Jitendra Kansal
Jul 11, 2017 at 10:01 AM
0

I believe you can go with either approach.

When you got a new (customized) package, you can either

  1. create a new app pointing to new package
  2. delete that standard one and then follow step#1
  3. In existing app, publish the new package

Please check this guide once: https://blogs.sap.com/2014/07/03/smp-30-custom-development-of-sap-work-manager-61-on-agentry-server/

Regards,

JK

Share
10 |10000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded
Bill Froelich
Sep 22, 2017 at 09:20 PM
0

You don't want to delete the old version before publishing the new version. The existing clients need to be able to access the old version when connecting to process any pending transactions before upgrading to the new version. #2 is the correct approach here.

--Bill

Show 1 Share
10 |10000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Hi Bill,

Yes I agree If we delete the old version then the client will not be able to sync the application definition. Will go with the second version


Thanks and Regards

Neha Mahanty

0