Skip to Content
0

Lead exists after deleting the converted opportunity

Apr 05, 2017 at 09:12 PM

94

avatar image

Hi All,

We have a situation where a user deleted an opportunity, that was converted from a lead. Now the user is unable to delete the lead because the system does not allow it.

What can we do at this point? What can we do to prevent this situation from happening? Is there a configuration item to prevent deletion of opportunities that resulted from a lead?

It's just the data now looks misleading...the lead was converted but there's no opportunity anymore..

10 |10000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded
* Please Login or Register to Answer, Follow or Comment.

3 Answers

Best Answer
Ankush Pashine
Apr 06, 2017 at 10:56 AM
0

Hello Mark,

When the user converts the lead into an opportunity or account and contact,
the internal status changes to Converted, and the lead cannot be reopened.

Once the status Converted is assigned to a lead, the user cannot modify the
lead, or assign a new status to it(even if follow-up document is deleted).

This is current system behavior.

Thanks and Regards,
Ankush Pashine.

Share
10 |10000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded
Loganathan P Apr 06, 2017 at 12:06 PM
0

Hi

One way of handling this in standard to restrict the DELETE action using the business role.

  • Go to the respective business role and Field &action. Under the business action Restrictions section,use the DELETE_OPPORTUNITY and change the access restriction to DISABLE.

if this is not feasible to the business users,the,go for the custom logic as below

  • You can write a logic that whenever the delete action is triggered for opportunity object,check for preceding lead document,If yes,throw a error message or warning.

Regards,

Logan

Share
10 |10000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded
Sandico Mark Apr 06, 2017 at 01:57 PM
0

Thanks for the answers both of you. Yes we have restricted the DELETE_OPPORTUNITY to those in an elevated role, but we missed this business case of preventing it (with some logic as above) if there was a preceeding lead - which I assume will involve SDK work.

Share
10 |10000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded