Skip to Content
0

Deactivate all users in X System

Apr 03, 2017 at 09:11 AM

272

avatar image

Hi,

How to deactivate all users in the Dev system. Due to migration i need to deactivate all the users in the platform. Can any give your ideas.

Thanks,

10 |10000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

is there any other option to enable all users in the platform and enable for only few users in the platform for validation. After environment upgradation.

0
* Please Login or Register to Answer, Follow or Comment.

3 Answers

Best Answer
Denis Konovalov
Apr 03, 2017 at 11:32 AM
0

just stop the webapp server and no one will be able to get to the system.

Show 7 Share
10 |10000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Hi Denis,

If we are stopping the webapp server no one can access the system right? Even administrator too right? If yes!

For testing purpose I need to give access to few users, can you please let me how in this scenario is possible?

Thanks,

0

you asked for all users, so no - if you stop webapp server - ALL users won't be able to access CMC/BILP.

What sort of migration are you doing, maybe we can propose better scenario

0

Denis,

We are up-grading from 4.0 to 4.1 and few more applications(AO, DS), while migrating no user are not allowed to login to current system. So we planned to lock the all users in the dev platform.

Thanks.

0

So its not a migration, it is an upgrade then. And why would you need to have a few users still access it ?
If you're running upgrade you stop everything, but CMS/FRS , upgrade and when done allow users to test it.

0

Once up-gradation has been completed, we need to need to test with different roles. For that purpose i need to give access only to 6 users out off 36000 users. I mean before testing we can't give access to any users so i need disabled all users in the Dev platform.

As you advised earlier, I've stopped the services and i did, now its turn to start all services and disabled all users.

0

is there any other option to enable all users in the platform and enable for only few users in the platform for validation. After environment upgradation?

0

See Deepak's answer.

0
Joe Peters Apr 03, 2017 at 12:03 PM
0

In CMC, Users and Groups, open the user group's properties and go to Account Manager. From here, you can enable/disable all users in the group.

If any users are already disabled when you start this, they will be enabled at completion.

Make sure your own ID is not in the group!

Show 9 Share
10 |10000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Thanks Reply Joe,

We have nearly 40000 users are there in the system, its not possbile to do individually.

Thanks,

0

I'm not suggesting that you do them individually. You can disable all the users in a group in one action.

0

Great Joe,

I didn’t find it the option for all user disable in user and groups. Can you please navigate by steps, or please send screenshots

Thanks.

0

It might depend on the version you are using. In newer versions the account manager option will be available when you right click on a group in the CMC.

0

I've tried this option, option was there only for individual users, not for all users.

0

When you right-click on a user group, do you not see "Account Manager" in the context menu?

0

No not there.

0

Which version are you on? The feature has been there since XI3.

If you're at least on that version, then check your own rights on that group - make sure you have Full Control over the group and its members.

0

Account Manager option was available, but account disabled option was available. Like as as for individual account.

0
Deepak Aswale Apr 12, 2017 at 07:39 AM
0

One option which comes to mind is, you can go to CMC -> Applications -> Right click on BI Launch Pad option -> User Security -> and then give "No access" to all the user Groups

keeping only admin group as full control.

You can perform the same for Web Intelligence, Information Design tool option under application.

You can take screenshots of the security before making changes, and once your testing is done you can revert back the changes by using the screenshots.

Regards,

Deepak

Share
10 |10000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded