Skip to Content

Difference between "Change Authorization data" and "Read Old Status & merge with new data"

Hello everyone,

Assume that I have added su01 in a new role. And have made changes to S_USER_AUT auth object by adding an additional activity 22. So, the status is changed from 'Standard' to 'Changed'. I generate the role and exit.

Now, I want to add se16 t-code to the same role along with su01. And when I click on 'Changed authorization data', it is showing 2 instances of S_USER_AUT, i.e, one is Standard (freshly pulled from su24) and another is Changed.

As per my understanding and what I have read everywhere, difference between Change authorization data and third option of Expert mode is that Change authorization data does not pull su24 of the old T-code. Whereas Read & merge pulls su24 of the old t-code . But in this case, both the options are pulling su24 of su01 tcode.

Any reason for the same?

capture.png

capture.png (18.7 kB)
Add comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Follow
  • Get RSS Feed

1 Answer

  • Best Answer
    May 15 at 05:15 PM

    Adding a transaction to the menu basically does the same thing as selecting expert mode and going out to SU24, etc.

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded