Skip to Content
author's profile photo
Former Member

SUM terminates after welcome screen

Hi,

Recently I have updated patch of a SC via SUM and everything went smooth.

After that when I try to open SUM for another patch updates after welcome screen SUM is terminates.

What Could be reason for this ?

I know that I Can delete the SUM Folder and uncar the whole content again but cannot afford to do everytime.

Any idea on this?

Regards

Rajesh

Add comment
10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

  • Follow
  • Get RSS Feed

1 Answer

  • Jan 10, 2014 at 08:05 AM

    Hi Rajesh,

    indeed the SUM does not allow a second run with the same folder, so you do have to uncar the content separately for each maintenance event.

    As I am interested in your scenario, please let me know why you "cannot afford to do [uncar] everytime".

    Regards, Boris

    Add comment
    10|10000 characters needed characters exceeded

    • I am in the same situation. I just asked this question elsewhere, but now I see the answer. I must agree with Rajesh that this seems a bit heavy to require a complete reinstallation of the tool each time a new patch is to be applied. Certainly this was not the case with JSPM or SPAM/SAINT.

      Unpacking the SUM tool anew each time it is used takes extra time, and requires us to keep the original half-gigabyte SAR file readily available. It makes the process that much more onerous than it used to be. For a big upgrade or enhancement pack update, or even a large sp stack update, this might not be a big deal, but it's a significant percentage of the sysadmin's time involved when it has to be done for a simple Java patch.

      Could not an option be put into the welcome screen for, say "start new update", or something like that?

      It also was not obvious that this was what was happening, so I ended up spending a lot of time looking for logfiles to figure out what the error was. So, perhaps if it's not possible to put a 'start fresh' option on the welcome screen, then perhaps a statement notifying the sysadmin/operator that this install cannot be reused?

      Best regards,

      Matt